Why I Am Not Leaving The House That Mom Built – Part 1

22 Jan

I’m wanna set the world on fire, until it is burning bright for you – Britt Nicole (Lyrics from the song “Set The World on Fire”)

Sundays are good. Today I am feeling particularly good. It’s how Sundays are supposed to be.

Today, I had written a blog post on Word 2010, and then posted it on the blog. I don’t know what happened, but the post disappeared. I think it’s a WordPress bug or something. So, as I write this post, I am trying to reword everything that I had written before…feels robotic.

Anyway, I rarely spend time at home. I am only at home maybe 2 days during the week. The rest of the days I am usually in the office. I eat, work, shower and sleep at the workplace.  The reason is simple…we do not have electricity at home. We haven’t had electricity since May, last year.

Over the past few days, I have learned that blogging is not for the faint at heart. Not that it is scary…it’s just so tempting not to write. Most of the time I’ve felt I’ll be wasting valuable work time when I start to jot a post. Other  times I am left wondering what to blog about keeping in mind this is a personal blog which has no niche. This is a personal journal. I do not know who people who blog everyday keep it or how the manage to get the time to blog.

Side FLash…The Movies I watched yesternight

SOUL SURFER – I am not a drama or romance movies person. I prefer action, you know, guns blazing, sirens in the background and fast cars. It’s just me. So I rarely watch romance or drama movies. However, yesterday I watched Soul Surfer and I have to say this is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time.

The movie is based on a true story…I guess that I why it has impacted me. It’s the story of Bethany Hamilton, a teen who survived a shark attack but lost her arm. It basically shows her struggles to be a pro surfer (which she is) after the attack and her belief in God. Inspiring movie is all I can say.

I even Googled her up, I found her on Wikipedia and here is her website. She is only 22. INSPIRATIONAL

Here is real picture below

Get the movie.

TRANSFORMERS- REVENGE OF THE FALLEN-Now, when I said I love action, I did not mean the kind of action in this movie. Basically, I found the story weak, the action bland and too much scrap metal on my laptop screen.

What happened to the storyline…or is it me who just did not get it. DissAPOinTInG is all I can say.

SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE – Once in a while I check the Oscars and Grammys. I just don’t follow them up much. I understand this was the first Indian movie to win an Oscar. Well, I can say I loved it. I think it’s mainly because there was not the traditional dancing that takes about 30 minutes in the middle of the movie. If you have watched Bollywood films, I guess you know what I mean.

Nice story…I love the way the story is not Hollywoodish…But still, it is not my favorite Indian movie of all time. I’ve watched a couple that I think are better than it. One is “The 3 Idiots”. This is a pure comedy film. I loved it.

The next Indian movie that I love, which also happens to be my favourite of all time (at least until I get to watch another one) is The Game. You should look for it. The story has a nice twist.

BACK TO MY MOM’s HOUSE

So, we (me and my brother) moved to the House that Mom built in May, last year. It was pretty incomplete. No, that is not the right word to describe it. It was REALLY incomplete. No windows, the floors not cemented, workmen tools scattered all over, etc.

If you have ever moved in to an unfinished home, then you know what I mean. Here are some pics of how the house was.

I’m 25, and no, I am not in a hurry to move out of Mom’s house. Mom lives at her workplace at SOS Children’s Village (Eldoret). She will be retiring in a 2 or 3 years, and then she will come to her house. That is when I will start living with her.

To be continued…not next week, but tomorrow 🙂

-The Dapper Don

One Response to “Why I Am Not Leaving The House That Mom Built – Part 1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Am Not Leaving The House That Mom Built – Part 2 « Modekali Confidential - January 25, 2012

    […] Continued from Why I am Not Leaving The House That Mom Built – Part 1 […]

Speak now!